Creamy Mushroom, Asparagus, and Sweet Pepper Soup

I’ve been on veggie overload lately.  I always buy WAY too many veggies & fruits at the grocery store and then I’m scrambling to use them in time before they go bad.  I normally buy enough to feed an army, yet it’s only my husband and I at home.

So, I was trying to use up some veggies and since it was such a rainy day, I figured soup would be perfect!!  I added butter to a large pot and threw in onions and bell pepper.  Then I added the remaining ingredients in and allowed to brown.
Once it was all browned I dumped the veggies into a blender with some milk.  Blended it all up until creamy and then back into the pan.
I added more milk & some veggie broth and then, viola! Soup! It was spicy and savory and absolutely perfect on a rainy day.  Yes, it’s a “creamy” soup, but it’s super healthy!  Jam packed with veggies that provide a ton of nutrients your body needs!!!

Ingredients

2 TB butter

1 onion

1 yellow sweet pepper

1 pack mushrooms

1 bunch asparagus

1 TB olive oil

1/2 tsp crushed red pepper flakes

1/2 TB garlic powder

1 tsp parsley

4 garlic cloves (diced)

1 1/2 c milk

1 c vegetable broth

Recipe

  1. Chop veggies up small & set aside.
  2. Heat butter in large pot & add in the chopped onions & diced garlic.  Allow to cook down 1-2 minutes.
  3. Add remaining vegetables – mushrooms, sweet peppers, asparagus & olive oil.  Allow to cook down for about 7 minutes.  The vegetables should begin to brown and become soft.  Stir in your garlic powder, parsley, and crushed red pepper flakes.
  4. Add cooked vegetables to blender and blend to combine with 1/2 c milk.  ((It’s best to allow your vegetables to cool a bit before blending to avoid any splash))
  5. Once your vegetables have been blended to a smooth consistency, add back in to the pot and add 1 c milk & 1 c vegetable broth.
  6. Cook for 5 minutes on medium heat.
  7. Enjoy!!
Leave a Reply

