Chorizo Taco Cups

I wanted to make some fun snacks for cinco de mayo and what’s more fun than Chorizo Taco cups?! I bought 1 lb of Hatfield Chorizo and cooked it in a saute pan. No need to add any seasonings… it’s perfect just the way it is!

I tried to look for wonton wrappers but the store was OUT. I asked the guy working in the produce dept if he knew where they were moved to. They used to be on a top shelf near the lettuce. He asked someone and told me they were in the organic aisle now. So, I went to the organic aisle….. nope! I asked the gentleman working in the organic aisle (who seemed to be a manager) and he told me they were in produce. I explained to him they used to be but apparently they’re not located there anymore as the produce employee just assisted me. Then I pushed my cart back to the produce aisle with the manager so he cold look for himself…… and guess what? He couldn’t find them either. Haha!!!! I ended up buying some egg roll wrappers from the organic section.

Pretty funny story for a simple wonton wrapper!  Egg roll wrappers will work JUST FINE if your grocery store decides to hide their wonton wrappers like mine did. 😂

If using egg roll wrappers, slice them into squares.

Spray your muffin pan with nonstick cooking spray and stuff your square wraps in. Then, put 1/2 of your chorizo evenly on top of the wontons.

Layer another wonton wrapper on top of your chorizo.

Top with remaining chorizo.

Add shredded cheese. I used a preshredded Mexican cheese blend.

I baked on 350 for 10 minutes until the wrap was a golden brown and the cheese was melted.

I popped them out of the muffin pan with a fork and set them on the serving dish.

Then I topped with shredded lettuce and sour cream.

They were so good I could have eaten every single one!!!

I also had store bought fresh guacamole and fresh salsa with tostito chips. I made a cheese dip with velveta cheese and a jar of rotel.

Then I sliced up some fresh veggies to either enjoy as a fresh little side salad or to add on top of nachos!

Chorizo Taco Cups

Makes 12

Ingredients

Wonton wrappers (or egg roll wrappers)

1 lb Chorizo

Shredded cheese (I used Mexican blend)

Shredded lettuce

Sour cream

Recipe

  1. Spray a muffin pan with cooking spray. Preheat your oven to 350.
  2. Line muffin pan with wonton wrappers. If using egg roll wrappers, slice into squares and add the squares to the muffin pan.
  3. Cook your chorizo in a pan. Once fully cooked, add 1/2 of the chorizo to the wonton wraps.
  4. Put anothet layer of wonton wraps on top of the chorizo.
  5. Add remaining chorizo to wonton wraps.
  6. Add cheese to each of the taco cups.
  7. Bake for 10 minutes or until golden brown and cheese has melted.
  8. Remove chorizo taco cups with a fork and add to serving platter.
  9. Top with shredded lettuce and a dollop of sour cream.

Leave a Reply

