Sombrero Pinata Cookies

Good morning everyone!!! I hope you’re as excited for cinco de mayo as I am! I stayed up suuuuper late last night making these Sombrero Pinata Cookies. It’s a sugar cookie made from Betty Crocker sugar cookie mix, filled with m&ms, and decorated with icing. (Get it?? Pinata?? Filled with M&Ms?? 😂😂) How fun?!?! They’re colorful and your kids will LOVE to help decorate them!

I went on a hunt for my ingredients (and pans) yesterday. You’ll need a cake pop/brownie pop pan as well as a whoopie pie pan. I picked up some colored icing in little tubes and then I saw gel food coloring and decided to give that a shot. I read that the gel keeps the colors more vibrant than regular food coloring. I also picked up big squeeze white icing, sugar cookie mixes, m&ms, and nonpareils.

(P.s. they have a PEANUT BUTTER M&M! Of course, I bought some) 😉

I used the drop cookie recipe on the back of the Betty crocker sugar cookie and I’m not sure if that was the right decision or not. Theres another blog that made these (referenced below) and they used the cut out cookie recipe.  So…. if I were to do them again, I would use the cut out cookie recipe to see if they turn out any better (the difference is 3 tablespoons flour).

Ok, so I made my dough by adding sugar cookie packet, butter, and 1 egg. Then I divided it into 4 bowls.

I added gel food coloring to each of the bowls and mixed it all up. I tried not to use my hands too much when initially mixing it in, however, my hands still managed to look like I was playing with markers. 😂

Then, I used my hands to roll it into a large ball and then I divided the large ball into 8 small balls. It’s pretty important to get to get them all the same size. While I didn’t use a tablespoon for mine, it wouldn’t be a bad idea to scoop your mixture into 8 balls.

Grease your whoopie pie pan and add your balls to it!

I did buy two whoopie pie pans and two cake pop pans because I knew it wold make my life much easier and they were on sale!

Use your hands to gently push your dough down into the circular shape.

 

Ok, now they’re ready to bake!!

Same for the cake pop tins. Plop your ball in and shape it to the side using your finger and/or the end of a wooden spoon. Freeze for 10 minutes.

Bake on 325 for 10. Then reshape. Then bake another 3.

Let them cool and then remove from pan.

Ok, now they’re ready to decorate!!! I used white icing and put it around the bottom part of the hat and rolled in nonpareils. Then, I filled with m&ms. Lastly, icing the bottom of the hat and then add the sugar cookie to it! Viola! Sombrero pinata cookies!!!! 🙂

Repeat for all of the cookies!

Then use your icing to decorate!!!! 🙂

Once they were all decorated I moved them to a cookie sheet and spread m&ms all over. I mixed regular m&ms and peanut butter m&ms.

They sure are pretty!

*Recipe inspired from Tablespoon.com

Sombrero Pinata Cookies

(Makes 16 Sombreros)

Ingredients

*You will need a whoopie pie pan & a cake pop/brownie pan.  I had 2 pans of each so I was able to make the full batch at one time.  If you only have one pan of each, you’ll need to rebake your remaining 4 cookies/cake pops.

1 pouch betty crocker sugar cookie mix (you will also need 1 stick butter, 1 egg, 3 tablespoons flour)

Gel food coloring (4 colors – yellow, green, blue, pink)

1 bag M&Ms

Nonpareils

Icing – I bought a large pouch of white icing and then small tubes of colored icing

Recipe

  1. Follow instructions for the Betty Crocker sugar cookie recipe on back for the cutout cookies.  (Betty Crocker mix + 1 stick butter + 1 egg)
  2. Divide the dough into 4 parts & add food coloring to each part.
  3. Divide your colored dough into 8 balls. 4 will be for the cookie bottoms (rim of the hat) and 4 will be for your cookie tops (crown of the hat)
  4. Push your 4 dough balls for each color into your whoopie pie pan.  Press down to cover the circle.  Bake on 325 for approx 10-12 minutes.  They should be SLIGHTLY brown on the edges.
  5. Push your 4 dough balls for each color into your cake pop pan.  Press your finger down into the middle of the dough ball and use the bottom of a wooden spoon handle to push the sides up the pop pan.  Freeze for 10 minutes.  Bake on 325 for 10 minutes.  Remove from oven, reshape with wooden spoon handle, and bake for another 3 minutes.
  6. Allow cookies to cool.  Remove from pans.
  7. Squeeze icing around the bottom of your dome cookie and dip in the nonpareils.  Fill with M&Ms.  Icing the bottom of the dome cookie (the part where it is going to touch the bottom cookie) and then add the sugar cookie bottom.  I did all of this with the cookie “upside down” to be sure the m&ms don’t fall out.
  8. Decorate the sombreros with colored icing!

Leave a Reply

