Zucchini Frittata

This may not classify as a frittata due to the fact that it’s not partially cooked on the stove first so I was iffy about calling it just that… but I did anyway.  Honestly, I don’t care what you call it because I’m just calling it delicious!!!

I sliced zucchini real thin and layered it on the bottom of a nonstick green life pan (these are the amazing ones that you see on TV where NOTHING sticks to them and they’re freaking incredible and super easy to clean). Then I sprinkled it with crushed red pepper, fresh ground black pepper, and garlic powder.

I slid it under the broiler for three minutes to allow the zucchini to brown up befote putting the egg on top!

I whisked 4 eggs together and then mixed in my chopped arugula and fire roasted red pepper.

Then I added the egg and veggie mixture on top of the cooked zucchini.

And then I sprinkled on some crumbled goat cheese

And layered with more zucchini

Of course I had to finish with more spices – garlic powder, black pepper and crushed red pepper.

I baked it on 350 for 15 minutes.

Then broiled it for 3 minutes to slightly brown the zucchini on top. 

Then, slide it right out on to a cutting board

Slice it right up like a pizza and enjoy!

This has to be my favorite fritatta/low carb/crustless bfast pizza yet!!!

Ingredients

1 zucchini

4 eggs

1/4 c chopped fire roasted red peppers in a jar

Goat cheese (about 2 tablespoons – crumbled)

1/2 c chopped arugula

Paprika, garlic powder, black pepper, crushed red pepper

Recipe

  1. Slice your zucchini as thin as you can get it and layer into the bottom of a pan as your “crust”
  2. Sprinkle garlic powder, crushed red pepper (optional), and black pepper over your zucchini. Broil for approximately three minutes or until zucchini has slightly started to brown
  3. Whisk together 4 eggs and then mix in chopped arugula, a pinch of paprika and chopped fire roasted red peppers.
  4. Pour on top of broiled zucchini. Add goat cheese in small crumbles evenly around the top of the egg mixture. Top with remaining sliced zucchini
  5. Sprinkle zucchini with garlic powder, black pepper, and crushed red pepper (again, optional)
  6. Bake on 350 for 15 minutes
  7. Once baked for 15 minutes, switch to broil and broil for three.
  8. Slide frittata out of pan on to cookie sheet and slice with pizza cutter.
  9. Enjoy! 

Leave a Reply

