Exotic Mushroom & Leek Pierogies

Screenshot_2017-04-08-13-25-46-1[2]Okay guys, I did it!  I made pierogies!  They always terrified the hell out of me to be honest…. making them, that is.  Anything that requires you to make your own dough scares me because well, I’m pretty much a horrible baker!  I’m a “throw things together” kind of cook and you just can’t do that when you’re baking and making dough.  So, I borrowed a dough recipe and gave this pierogi thing a shot.  And you know what?  I was impressed!  I seriously impressed myself here (because like I said…. I was friggin’ terrified!)  These pierogies are SUPER easy to make and this was my first time making them!  Screenshot_2017-04-08-13-26-01-1[1]I bought a pack of exotic blend mushrooms and shiitake mushrooms.  Funny story here… I went to Acme, where I don’t normally shop (you know how that is when you don’t know where anything is in the grocery store so you wander down every single aisle and it takes you 30 minutes to find 1 thing) and well, I always seem to have the best (or worse) grocery shopping stories!  For example…. one time I left giant in a rain storm and my bag broke and my cans went rolling all over the parking lot…. in a rain storm.  Did I mention it was SERIOUSLY raining?

Or another time when I had a broken cart (the kind that have the top & bottom basket) and everything I put on the bottom of my cart slid out the back of the cart while I was shopping around the store because the metal piece was broken that’s supposed to hold your groceries in???

So anyway… this time…. I was in the checkout line, paid, packed up my groceries & put them in my cart & walked away.  Only I hit something with my cart… so, hm, that was weird… Then I hit it again trying to roll my cart back to see what it was.  Nothing – I didn’t see anything.  So I kept on walking.  Then this woman comes yelling and running behind me, “DID YOU DROP THIS?? DID YOU DROP THIS???” Yep. That thing I was hitting & running over multiple times with my cart?  It was my mushrooms.Screenshot_2017-04-08-13-26-13-1[1]So I added my exotic blend mushrooms to my food processor & processed them into tiny mushroom pieces.  I tried to do the same with the shiitake mushrooms and then I realized that shiitake mushrooms are the meatiest little mushrooms that I’ve ever seen in my life!  They didn’t even budge.  So, I took them out, diced them up, and added them back in.Screenshot_2017-04-08-13-26-24-1[2] Viola!  I added all of the processed mushrooms to a large bowl & mixed them together.Screenshot_2017-04-08-13-26-35-1[1]Then I chopped a sweet onion into quarters and added that to the food processor & mixed it in with the mushroom mixture.Screenshot_2017-04-08-13-26-45-1[1]I melted 2 tablespoons butter in a saute pan & added the mushrooms.Screenshot_2017-04-08-13-27-02-1[1]I cooked on medium heat for about 10 minutes.  I also added in heavy cream, diced garlic cloves, and chopped parsley….and a little bit of salt and pepper.Screenshot_2017-04-08-13-27-13-1[1]We recently went to pick leeks (It’s Leek time here in Pennsylvania in April).  I cleaned three leeks and chopped them up real small & added them into the mushroom filling.  Screenshot_2017-04-08-13-27-26-1[1] Leeks are super strong so you don’t need many.

My dough sat for 30 minutes and now it was ready to use!Screenshot_2017-04-08-13-27-37-1[1]I rolled the dough out as thin as I could get it.  It was almost see-through.  Then I floured the rim of a large mouth mason jar & used it to cut my circles for the pierogies.Screenshot_2017-04-08-13-27-55-1[1]Once my circle was cut, I used my rolling pin again to roll it just a little bit more.  I added my hand there for scale for you.Screenshot_2017-04-08-13-28-08-1[1]Then I put a large spoonful of the filling in the dough & folded the top over.Screenshot_2017-04-08-13-28-20-1[1]Screenshot_2017-04-08-13-28-52-1[1]I used a fork to pinch the edges of the dough together.Screenshot_2017-04-08-13-28-31-1[1]Screenshot_2017-04-08-13-29-44-1[1]and there ya have it! Real, homemade, fresh pierogies!  Screenshot_2017-04-08-13-30-09-1[1]Screenshot_2017-04-08-13-29-56-1[1]Screenshot_2017-04-08-13-30-19-1[1]Once all of my pierogies were made, I boiled water in a large pan.  I also prepped 2 pans for my pierogies as I wanted to cook them two different ways.

Each pan had 1/2 stick butter & 1 onion sliced up.

I boiled my pierogies until they were floating (about 1 minute) and then lifted them out of the boiling water and into the buttery pan.Screenshot_2017-04-08-13-30-39-1[1]Half of the pierogies I only dipped & stirred around in the butter and then removed them right away.

The other half I let them fry & form a delicious golden crust.Screenshot_2017-04-08-13-30-49-1[1]There ya have it. Pierogies. 2 ways – both ways delicious.Screenshot_2017-04-08-13-32-13-1[1]Screenshot_2017-04-08-13-32-39-1[1]Screenshot_2017-04-08-13-32-57-1

Dough Ingredients (Makes about 40 pierogies)

2 c flour

1 egg

1/2 c warm water

1 teaspoon salt

2 tablespoons oil

*Recipe borrowed from here.

Dough Recipe

  1. Mix flour, egg, warm water, salt, and oil in mixing bowl on low speed using dough attachment until a flaky dough ball forms (only a few minutes).  Cover with clean kitchen towel.  Let sit 30 minutes.

Exotic Mushroom Filling Ingredients (Makes about 20 pierogies)

4 oz exotic blend mushrooms (shiitake, oyster, baby bella)

4 oz shiitake mushrooms

3 sweet yellow onion

3 leeks

2 tablespoons butter + 1 stick of butter

4 tablespoons heavy cream

Salt

Pepper

2 tablespoons fresh parsley

4 garlic cloves

Recipe

  1. Add exotic blend mushrooms to food processor on low for about 1 minute.  Add processed mushrooms to large bowl.
  2. Chop shiitake mushrooms into smaller pieces & add to food processor.  Pulse again for about a minute and then combine with the mushrooms in the large bowl.
  3. Cut 1 sweet onion into quarters and add to food processor.  Process & add to bowl with mushrooms.  Stir to combine.
  4. Melt 2 tablespoons butter in nonstick skillet.  Add mushroom onion mixture and cook on medium until the mushrooms begin to dry up (about 10 minutes).
  5. Add chopped parsley, diced garlic cloves, chopped leeks, and heavy cream.  Stir and let cook another 3 minutes.  Add salt & pepper to taste.
  6. Once dough has set for 30 minutes, cut dough in 1/2.  I only needed 1/2 of the dough for my pierogies and I froze the other 1/2.  Roll the dough until it is just about as thin as you can get it without it tearing.  You’ll know as you can see the dough begin to wrinkle when it’s just thin enough.  It will also be almost see-through.
  7. Flour a wide mouth mason jar & cut circles out of your dough. Set aside.
  8. Using your floured rolling pin, roll your circle out just a little bit thinner.  Now add a scoop of your mushroom mixture to your pierogi.
  9. Fold the top side down and use a fork to close the edges.
  10. Boil pierogies until floating (about 1 minute).  Add to saute pan with melted butter & onions. (I had 2 pans set with butter and onions – 1/2 stick of butter & 1 onion in each pan.  I set the boiled piergoies evenly in each pan to have 1/2 of my batch fried in the butter and the other half just boiled in an onion butter sauce.)
  11. For your fried pierogies, leave in saute pan until they have formed a golden brown crust on both sides.
  12. For your boiled buttery pierogies, toss in butter garlic saute pan & then remove from heat.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

