Roasted Brussels Sprouts and Squash Salad

If it was October, I’d call this an Autumn Roasted Salad because it just looks like fall to me (and there’s squash involved). However, it’s April so we are going to call it a Roasted Brussels Sprouts and Squash Salad!!! πŸ™‚ I can’t get enough of the variety and colors in my salads lately. What should I make next?!?! 

I sliced the Brussels sprouts into halves and peeled and cubed my butternut squash into bite sized pieces.

I added them to a baking sheet and drizzled olive oil on top. I used my hands to mix the olive oil all over the vegetables.

Then I roasted them for 35 minutes at 400 degrees.

I removed the kale from the stems and added it to a large saute pan. I drizzled olive oil on top.

I set my goat cheese aside as I wanted to crumble it on top of my salad. I also added a little bit in with the kale to let it melt up a but before removing it from the pan.

Waiting for my vegetables to roast, I opened a can of salt free sliced beets and cut the slices into halves. Then I set them aside.

I toasted the walnuts for a few minutes.

And when there was about 5 minutes left on the veggies in the oven, I sautΓ©ed the kale.

I just wanted it wilted a little and warm. It also turns a pretty fresh green color. When this is ready, I removed it from the stove and added it to a large platter.

Then I topped with my deliciously crispy roasted Brussels sprouts and squash.

Did I mention I don’t even like squash? But this squash? Oh baby. When you roast it like this it just makes it irresistible!

Piled high with roasted vegetables, beets, toasted walnuts, and crumbled goat cheese.

It’s so pretty isn’t it? Reminds me of fall and all of my favorite colors!

Husband approved! I could eat this every single day!

Ingredients 

1 large bundle fresh kale (stems on)

1 jar salt free sliced beets

1 4 oz goat cheese 

1 butternut squash

1 bag Brussels sprouts

1/2 c walnuts

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 400
  2. Use a vegetable peeler to remove the skin of the butternut squash.
  3. Cut the butternut squash into bite size cubes. I only used the skinny part of the squash for this recipe and saved the bottom larger part for later.
  4. Slice your Brussels sprouts in 1/2. 
  5. Add Brussels sprouts and squash to a baking sheet. Drizzle with olive oil and use your hands to coat.
  6. Roast in preheated oven for 35 minutes or until golden brown.
  7. Remove your sliced beets from jar (I used about 1/2 jar) and slice in 1/2 or 1/4 depending on how small you prefer. Set aside.
  8. Remove the stems from your kale and place in saute pan. Drizzle with olive oil. When the squash has 5 minutes left, turn on the heat to the kale and let wilt a bit. 
  9. Add kale to large serving platter. Top with squash and Brussels sprouts. Add beets. Add walnuts (I toasted mine for about 2 minutes on the stove). Add crumbled goat cheese.
  10. Enjoy! πŸ™‚
2 Comments Add yours

  1. chef mimi says:

    I’m pretty season oriented with what I prepare and eat,,, but I could definitely eat this salad year round!

    Like

    1. I couldn’t agree with you more, Chef Mimi!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

