Cool Cucumber Salad

Growing up my Dad always made cucumber salad with pasta!  I’ve never heard of anyone else making this… especially with the pasta!  There was a tiny little butchers shop in the town I grew up that made it sometimes and my Dad bought it whenever the butcher had it.  It’s simple, refreshing, and perfect for summer days!

I might be pushing the summer days thing.  It’s only April… April 3rd to be exact… but I made this yesterday because it was SUCH a beautiful day and I’m so beyond ready for summer. I swear, each year I get more and more ready to pack up & move to Florida.  I’m not all about these winters.

SO, my hubby moved our deck furniture back out for me & I sat out there, soaked up some sun, and enjoyed a few glasses of wine.  I love the sun.

BUT, I also threw together his AMAZING salad to enjoy!!! (and pretend it’s summer).

Ingredients

4-5 small pickling cucumbers

1 red onion

1 sweet onion

1/2 c sugar

1 1/2 c white vinegar

2 1/2 c water

1 tablespoon pepper

Sprinkle of salt

Pasta of your choice (I used rigatoni).

Recipe

  1. Slice your cucumbers and onions into rounds.  Add to large bowl.
  2. Add your sugar, vinegar, water, pepper, and salt and give a good stir until mixed.
  3. Cook rigatoni (or any pasta you prefer) as directed on box.  Strain.  Add to cucumber & onion salad.  The pasta is optional – I prefer to add only about 1 -2 c cooked pasta that way you’re eating more of the cucumber and onion and the pasta is just an added “treat”
  4. Marinate for at least 3 hours before serving (preferably overnight)

2 Comments Add yours

  1. yarnspinnerr says:

    With day time temperature touching 40C here, this sounds yummy.

    Like

    1. Right!! It’s perfect for those scorching summer days!!!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

