Kale, Blood Orange and Feta Salad

Sometimes the best things in life are the most simple. I’ve been on such a blood orange kick lately. When I find good juicy and dark blood oranges in the store I want to buy them ALL. There’s something so beautiful about the color and simplistic goodness these babies bring to the table. Plus, they taste ammazzzzzinggg. (Did I exaggerate that word enough??)

I’m a big fan of oranges (or any citrus fruit actually). I remember as a kid my Dad would sit on the couch at night to watch TV after he showered and he’d peel and eat an orange.  I’d always cuddle up next to him and I remember the smell of men’s body wash and oranges….and I’m sure he had to share with me since I was up his rear 24/7! Haha

So, as I peeled the blood orange for this simple dinner, these wonderful memories flooded my mind. Crazy how smells bring back the most vivid memories, isn’t it? 

I put a big handful of kale on my plate and peeled my blood orange. Then I cut it into rounds and placed it on top of the kale. This blood orange was so perfectly ripe that it came apart very easily (so the rounds didn’t stay rounds). Then, I sprinkled feta on top!

I didn’t use any dressing or oil here as the blood oranges were juicy enough to satisfy me. I didn’t want to alter the flavor with any dressing.

3 ingredients – kale, blood orange, feta cheese. You’ll have the most delicious, fresh, and beautiful salad!

4 Comments Add yours

  1. jlstanding says:

    I love blood oranges so much! They look amazing in a salad!

    Like

    1. I couldn’t agree with you more! They’re such a beautiful color!!

      Like

  2. Looks delicious – Merci for following 24/7 in France, author of β€œSolitary Desire-One Woman’s Journey to France”- video http://youtu.be/xG_YTa5sDac & wishing you all the best!

    Like

Leave a Reply

