BLT-A “Caesar” Salad

I’m a huge fan of BLTS now, however when I was a kid that was a different story.  I didn’t want tomato on mine and well, I just didn’t like the combination of the ingredients – I’d rather have had a LT sandwich with mayo and bacon on the side.  I’m still a little different when it comes to BLT’s because I don’t like mine toasted.  So, since I’m always the odd ball when it comes to BLT’s, why not be even more of an odd ball & make a BLT salad??!!

I got the idea for a BLT salad from a girl I used to work with when I was in college.  She has Celiac Disease and would always order a BLT salad from a local restaurant with no dressing and no croutons.  It was her way of enjoying a BLT without being poisoned by the gluten.

I liked the idea so of course I’m going to throw a little spin on it and serve it with croutons and avocado (because why not?!).  I would have thrown some red onion in here too, except I was literally rushing to put this together at 6AM because I slacked off the night before and hubby and I needed lunches for the day ASAP!  And well, the red onion slipped my mind.

I bought these beautiful tomatoes from the grocery store knowing I wanted to use them in my BLT salad.  I sliced them into rounds to be easier for a bite.

If you follow my blog regularly, you’ll know I’m a huge fan of nitrate/nitrite free bacon!  This bacon was Oscar Mayer Select Naturals Smoked Uncured Bacon.  It’s amazing.  I’d highly recommend it!

While my bacon was cooking up, I put a few handfuls of kale and baby lettuce mix into a large bowl.  Then I added in my sliced up tomatoes and I sliced an avocado and added that in.

I decided I wanted to use Roasted Garlic Hidden Valley Ranch Dressing.  Guyyyyys.  I can’t even express to you how yummy this dressing is!  It’s like a mix between a ranch and a caesar and as much as I love caesar, I love this even more!

I bought some fresh Parmesan cheese from Giant.  I used a vegetable peeler and sliced off some Parmesan and added it to my large salad bowl.  I could shred this entire block of Parmesan cheese into my salad, that’s how much I love it.  I refrained however, only because hubby’s not a big fan 😉

The bacon turned out perfect!  I chopped it into bite size pieces and added it to my salad.

The croutons I used were store bought butter garlic croutons.

Ingredients

1 lb bacon

10 tomato medley tomatoes

1/2 avocado

1 block fresh Parmesan cheese

Butter Garlic croutons

Kale/Baby Spring Mix

Hidden Valley Garlic Ranch Dressing

Directions

1. Add your kale/baby spring mix to a large bowl.  I used about 5 handfuls

2. Slice your tomatoes & add to salad

3. Using a vegetable peeler, peel fresh Parmesan off of your cheese block & add to salad.

4. Cook your bacon, set on paper towel to remove excess fat & chop into bite size pieces  – Add to salad

5. Slice 1/2 avocado & add to salad.

6. Add croutons

7. Drizzle hidden valley garlic ranch to salad

8. Enjoy!

 

 

Leave a Reply

