Philly Sushi Roll

Sushi just may be one of my favorite things to make!  I feel as though many people are intimidated by it and believe me when I tell you I was at first too.  However, I promise you, it’s SO easy!

The Philadelphia Roll is one of my favorites and it’s super easy to make!  All you need are nori wraps, sushi rice, smoked salmon, Philadelphia cream cheese, and cucumber!
I’ve been able to find sushi rice and nori wraps right in my local grocery store in the international aisle.  I remember the first few times I made sushi I had to search long and hard for nori wraps, but now they’re available everywhere!  If you can’t find them in your local store, you can always order them online!

Make sure you hollow out your cucumber.  If you don’t, you may end up with mushy sushi!  I use a spoon and scoop out the seeds.  (I keep the part I scoop out and use it with Hendricks & tonic for my hubby that loves gin & tonics – Or, I keep it for myself & infuse water with it –No need to waste!)

Once your cucumber has been hollowed out, slice into thin strips!

I got my work station ready – cucumber, check.  Salmon? Check. cream cheese? check. I did get out my sushi rolling mat but honestly, I don’t even use it anymore.

I bought two packs of smoked salmon to use but I only ended up opening the whiskey & honey smoked salmon.  1 4 oz pack made 4 rolls and that’s all we needed 🙂

My mother in law bought us a pressure cooker about a year or so ago.  I’m telling you what, it’s the neatest invention!  I love making my rice in here.  (Sidenote – If you’re unable to find sushi rice and have a pressure cooker, regular rice turns out a lot more sticky in a pressure cooker so you’d be just fine).  The most perfect sushi rice is done in just 8 minutes!

Take your nori wrap & lay it out flat.  Scoop your sushi rice on top & then use a wooden paddle or plastic flat spoon to spread it out evenly on the nori wrap.

Once it’s all spread out evenly I like to sprinkle mine with black sesame seeds.

For the cream cheese I took my knife and sliced a long piece off of it and put it in the middle of my roll.

Then I added a few pieces of sliced cucumber.

And a few slices of the smoked salmon! Oh man, I love salmon.

The rolling part is super easy – I wrap the side closest to me up first.  Then I use my fingers and tighly roll it all up.

Viola!  If it doesn’t turn out so well the first time, practice makes perfect! Don’t get discouraged.

To make your rolls you want to wet a sharp knife and slice it into the size rolls you prefer.  I like mine a little on the thin side (just makes it easier to pop it in my mouth in one bite!)

Now, they’re ready to eat!

Once you have the hang of it, you’ll be rolling like crazy! 🙂 They’re so fun to make and you can make each one unique!

I did make one roll with cream cheese, avocado, and cucumber because I was out of the 1st pack of salmon that I opened and didn’t want to open the other pack for 1 little roll! 🙂

I love avocado veggie sushi rolls 🙂

I also sprinkled some with black sesame seeds after I cut them in the roll.

I like to make these the day before and keep them in the fridge overnight.  This time I made them as a fun lunch for us to take to work.  The reason I like to make them ahead of time is so the rice can assist the nori wrap in softening up a little bit.

Philadelphia Sushi Rolls

Ingredients

4 nori wraps

4 oz smoked salmon

1 1/4 c sushi rice (cooked with 2 c water)

1/2 8 oz. pack philadelphia cream cheese

1/2 long cucumber

Sesame seeds

Recipe

1. Prep your ingredients – Slice your cucumber in 1/2 and remove the seedy insides.  Slice into long thin strips.  Set your cream cheese out.

2. Cook your sushi rice according to package.  Set aside.

3. Lay your nori out on a cutting board and add a scoop of cooked sushi rice on top.  Use a wooden paddle spoon to smooth the rice out over your nori wrap.

4. Sprinkle your sushi rice with sesame seeds

5. Add 2-3 slices of cucumber.  Add 1 slice of cream cheese. Add 2-3 slices of smoked salmon

6. Roll your wrap tightly

7. Wet a sharp knife.  Slice your wrap into bite size rolls.

8. Dip in soy sauce & enjoy! 🙂

(I prefer to make these ahead of time & keep them in the refrigerator overnight.  This allows the nori wrap to soften up a bit from the rice)

 

Leave a Reply

