Tostadas

image

I discovered Tostadas when a local mexican restaurant opened up.  Holy cow, they are amazing!!!  We ordered a bunch of stuff to try and they were definitely added to my “favorite mexican foods” list.  SO, why not try to make them at home??

image

I bought corn tortillas at the grocery store (I didn’t realize how many options they have for these – all different sizes, brands, and quantities).

image

I started out by frying each of the corn tortillas.  I always fry in olive oil and these little guys only took a few minutes to crisp up.

image

I was so excited about these!!! Look at how yummy and crunchy they look!!!

image

I used mild cheddar for my hubby’s, daiya dairy free cheddar for mine, and red hot & medium taco seasoning.

image

I sliced up some lettuce, sweet onion, and homegrown tomatoes for our toppings.

image

My station was ready.  I had refried beans in a can that I warmed up & I used some leftover taco meat I had in my freezer (Thawed it out & warmed it up on the stove).

image

Once you have all of your ingredients, start assembling!

image

I layered my tostada with refried beans, lettuce, onions, seasoned ground beef, cheese, tomatoes, red hot & taco seasoning.

image

Guuuuyssss…… These are SOOOO good.  Perfect for lunch, a snack, an appetizer, or finger food while watching a game or race!  Seriously!! They’re perfect!  And of course I had to enjoy it with a Corona 😉

image

Tostada

Corn tortillas

Oil for frying

Refried beans

Cheese

Beef seasoned with taco seasoning

Lettuce

Tomato

Onion

Taco seasoning (mild or medium)

Red hot

Recipe:

1. Fry your tortillas for 3-4 minutes in olive oil or until brown & crispy.  Once fried, lay tortilla on a paper towel to dry.

2. Prepare your refried beans and ground beef.  I just heated my refried beans up right out of a can & I used some leftover ground beef that I had preseasoned with taco meat & stuck in the freezer (heated in on the stove).

3. Spread your refried beans over your tostada.

4. Start piling up your toppings – lettuce, onion, ground beef, cheese, tomatoes, red hot, and taco sauce.

5. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

