Tornado Fries

My husband and I went to Sams Club the other week and they were giving away a free item with a product demonstration.  The free item was the Magical Spiral shown below and the product demonstration was a Mr. Whipster, which will have to be another story for another day! 🙂 I do have a spiralizer at home but this little tool looked so fun!

It was 50 degrees last night in the middle of January here in Pennsylvania.  Of course this time of year I always have an itching to go camping.  I’m not a winter or cold weather person – I’m much happier outside.  Sooo with that being said, we had a fire & invited a few of our friends & neighbors over.  I decided to give my lil’ spiralizer a try & created these delicious tornado fries!

I spiralized my potatoes & added them on to skewers.

I was so excited in the kitchen I was laughing and screaming and I kept getting weird looks from my dogs.  Whenever I get excited they get super excited so we basically had a party of fun in my kitchen while makin’ these! 🙂

I melted 1 stick of butter and sprinkled garlic powder & a ranch packet in & whisk until combined.  Yummmmmm butter ranch sauce just makes me happy.

I found that it was easier to coat the potatoes in my garlic butter ranch seasoning prior to spreading them out on the kabob.

Once I spread them out I coated them again in the butter ranch.

I baked them on 350 for about 1 hour.  I did have two cookie trays of these in the oven, so depending on how many you’re making (and how they fit in your oven) your cooking time could vary.

They were a bit hit!  I brought them out to the fire & we roasted hotdogs on a stick and warmed the tornado fries up right on the fire!  They’re crunchy, salty, ranch-y and completely satisfying.

Tornado Fries

Ingredients

Potatoes (1 potato for each stick) – I made 12

Spiralizer (See photo above)

Wooden kabob sticks

1 stick butter

1 ranch seasoning packet

½ tablespoon garlic powder

Salt & Pepper

Recipe

1. Using your spiralizer, screw the top part in & twist to form your spiral potatoes.  Be gentle with the top of your potato as you slice down lower so it doesn’t “fall over” and rip.

2. Poke your skewer through your potato (DO NOT use the center hole that your spiralizer created to put your skewer through – You want to poke a new hole so you can easily hold the skewer up without the potato sliding down it).

3. Melt your butter in a bowl & add in garlic powder & ranch seasoning packet.  Whisk until combined

4. Using a basting brush, brush your butter mixture on your potato prior to spreading it out on your kabob stick.

5. Using your basting brush, brush your butter mixture over your potato once more after it has been spread out.  Be sure to coat the potato slices.

6. Bake in the oven 350 approximately 1 hr or until golden brown & crispy.

Leave a Reply

