Tater Tot Breakfast Casserole

image

This tater tot casserole will make your morning complete.  Tater tots, sausage, cheddar cheese (dairy free), bacon, eggs, and seasonings.

image

I wasn’t comfortable buying premade sausage at the grocery store. I just don’t like when I can’t tell EXACTLY what is in something.  I bought ground pork & added seasonings myself.  I added in ground pper, herbs de provence, and italian seasoning.

image

I also found this amazing bacon at Wegmans.  I’m a big fan of nitrate free bacon – I feel like this brand goes the extra mile & I’m pretty sure this might be the only bacon I buy from now on.

image

The bacon is thicker but it looked and smelled so yummy.  With the sausage and the bacon cooking, my kitchen smelled amazingggggg.

image

I mixed my eggs up & then added in almond milk.

image

Once my pork was browned I added it to the bottom of the 9×13″ pan.

image

Sprinkle on some daiya cheddar cheese (dairy free).

image

Dump in your egg/almond milk mixture (do your best to distribute it evenly).

image

Tater Tot Casserole

  • 4 slices bacon, cooked and crumbled
  • 1 lb ground pork
  • ½ tbsp italian seasoning
  • ½ tbsp herbs de provence
  • 1 cup daiya cheddar cheese shreds (dairy free)
  • 2 cups almond milk
  • 3 large eggs
  • ½ tsp freshly ground black pepper
  • ½ tsp onion powder
  • pinch of salt
  • 2 lbs frozen tater tots
  • 3 TB freshly chopped parsley for garnish
  1. In a very large skillet, cook sausage on medium high heat, breaking up the meat and browning it. Once cooked through, drain and layer onto the bottom of a 9×13 inch baking pan. Evenly sprinkle ½ cup of the cheese over cooked sausage
  2. In a large bowl, hand-whisk together the almond milk, eggs, pepper, onion powder, and salt. Once mixed, pour evenly over the cheese and sausage in baking dish. Layer top with frozen tater tots.
  3. When ready to bake, set oven to 350.  Bake for 35 minutes.  Top with additional ½ cup cheese, cooked/crumbled bacon, and bake another 10 minutes.  Garnish with chopped parsley, let rest at room temp 10 minutes, and serve.

*Recipe adapted from Chew Out Loud

Leave a Reply

