Spaghetti Squash

Spaghetti Squash

I’m not a fan of squash – Idk what is is, I just don’t like it.  However, spaghetti squash is so fun that I can eat it! 🙂 I sliced my squash in ½ and removed the seeds.  Then I drizzed olive oil on both sides & sprinkled salt & pepper on top.

I preheated my oven to 375 and baked the squash for 35 minutes. I baked it with the cut side down on the cookie sheet. Once it’s baked the inside will turn right to spaghetti as soon as you put a fork to it!

I use a fork to scrape out the insides of both and now it’s ready for your sauce!!

For my sauce I added tomatoes, pickled garlic cloves, sweet onion, and mushrooms to a 9×13 pan.  I then drizzled on olive oil, red wine vinegar, and balsamic vinaigrette.  I sprinkled italian seasoning & parsley on top.  I gave it a good stir & baked it in the oven on 350 for 35 minutes with the spaghetti squash.

I wish I could share with you how yummy this made my house smell!!!!! I cooked up some mussels to have along with the spaghetti squash.  I always buy mussels in the freezer section at my local giant that are preseasoned/buttered & ready to just be thrown into a pot & cooked for 6 minutes.  I have tried making mussels at home a time or two, but I haven’t been happy with the mussels from my local stores.  To be honest, the mussels from the freezer section are AMAZING anyway, so why would I make my own?? 😉

I poured my roasted tomatoes & all of the other goodies in that pan into a blender.

and I blended until they were nice and creamy.

Of course, I topped the tomato sauce with parmesan cheese! 🙂

Spaghetti Squash

Ingredients

Spaghetti Squash

Olive Oil

Salt

Pepper

Directions

1. Slice your spaghetti squash in ½

2. Scoop out the seeds

3. Drizzle olive oil on both sides

4. Sprinkle with salt & pepper

5. Bake on 350 for 35 minutes

6. Using a fork, scrape the squash out

7. Top with my homemade tomato sauce recipe!

Homemade Tomato Sauce

Ingredients

3 c cherry tomatoes

1 c mushrooms

1 sweet onion

10 pickled garlic cloves

2-3 tablespoons olive oil

1 tablespoon red wine vinegar

2 tablespoons balsamic vinaigrette

1 tablespoon italian seasoning

1 tablespoon parsley

1. Add all ingredients to 9×13 pan

2. Bake on 350 for 25 minutes

3. Add roasted ingredients to blender & blend until smooth

4. Add on top of your roasted spaghetti squash & enjoy!

Leave a Reply

