Salted Chocolate Maple Bars

image
image
image

I’ve been craving chocolate for days. DAYS! It’s all I talk about. I can’t just grab a hershey bar & dig in because I’m not allowed to have dairy. Ok, Leigh, think. How can you eat chocolate without the dairy? COCOA POWDER! YAY!

image

Salty Chocolate Maple Bars

Ingredients: Coconut Flour, Maple Syrup, Coconut Oil, Mighty Maple Peanut Butter, Vanilla Extract, Coarse Sea Salt, Cocoa Powder

6×9 pan layered with parchment paper

1st layer:

2/3 c coconut flour

2 tbsp maple syrup

1/3 c coconut oil.

2nd layer:

½ c mighty maple peanut butter

½ c syrup

½ c coconut oil

2 tsp vanilla extract

3rd layer:

¼ c coconut oil

¼ c cocoa powder

2 tbsp maple syrup

Line your 6×9 baking dish with parchment paper. Set your oven to 350 to preheat. Mix 2/3 c coconut flour with 3 tbsp maple syrup until it is crumbly. Mix in 1/3 c room temperature coconut oil. I used my hands at the end and mixed it up until it was dough like. Press this dough into the bottom of your 6×9 pan.

Bake for 12 minutes at 350. It should be slightly brown on the edges. Let cool completely at room temperature.

Mix all of your ingredients for layer 2 in a saucepan until melted. Pour over your first layer (make sure your first layer has cooled completely).

Put in fridge to set. I left mine for about 1 ½ hours.

Mix all of your ingredients for layer 3 in a saucepan until melted. Pour over your second layer (make sure your second layer has cooled completely).

Here’s where I cheated…. I didn’t wait long enough to let it set before I sliced them up. I couldn’t wait. I waited 3 whole days with a chocolate craving – I was done waiting. Since I didn’t wait, my second layer was still a little gooey when I ate it.  I would recommend letting it set up overnight [it wasn’t gooey when I devoured another slice with my coffee in the morning 😉 ]

Once it is completely firm, sprinkle with coarse sea salt. Enjoy!

*Recipe adapted from Bakerita

Leave a Reply

