Quinoa Salad with Chicken

Quinoa is a gluten free grain and a super healthy one too!  It was over 100 degrees and well, if I would have realized how hot it truly felt on my deck this afternoon I would have told my husband we were having italian ice for lunch. Instead, I stuck with being the amazing wife that I am, and I whipped up this salad. 😉

I do believe this was a first for me cooking red quinoa.  To be honest, I don’t know why it’s red – I haven’t googled it yet. It was beautiful though!  I cooked my quinoa in advance because I didn’t want it to be warm in the salad.

I defrosted some boneless skinless chicken breasts, pounded them out, and smothered them with Kick’n Chicken weber seasoning (notice the gluten free circle right on the front)!!  When I say smothered, I mean smothered. I season to the point of “wow, is that too much seasoning?” Nahhh! I do NOT like plain chicken. 🙂

I put the chicken on the grill along with sliced onions, asparagus, zucchini, and corn on the cob.  This is going to be one wild salad.

While that was cooking, I assembled my quinoa, carrots, lettuce, and sliced tomatoes on my plate. I also mashed up ½ of an avocado and added it on!  Then I sliced up the chicken and put it on the plate, sliced the corn off the cob, and cut the zucchini into bite size pieces. I decided to add a little BBQ sauce onto my chicken & corn. I did mix it all up before I ate it, but it didn’t look as pretty mixed as it does in this photo…. hah 😉

Leave a Reply

