Pizza

I LOVE pizza.  There are so many places now that are making gluten free pizza’s that it’s incredible!  My downfall? I can’t have cheese!  What fun is ordering a pizza from a restaurant with gluten free crust & no cheese?? Ok, ok I haven’t tried it yet so I shouldn’t knock it & I think it’s great there are so many options for us with crazy allergies.

I asked my husband to go to the grocery store & find me gluten free pizza crust.  He did.  I was super excited, took it out of the freezer (it was a ball of dough) only to realize it was made with milk.  I’m sure you can imagine my disappointment.  So, I went back to the store and stood in the organic section like a lost puppy.

The man that worked in the organic section helped me out – He pointed me in the direction of 18 different pizza crusts (ok, maybe I’m exaggerating but there was a lot of options!) all of which were both gluten and dairy free!  I bought an Udi crust and this crust (Kinnikinnick).  The employee I spoke with told me that they sell a lot of the Kinnikinnick brand.

image

It comes with 4 personal pizza crusts.  This works out perfectly because my husband is still eating dairy (and well, still eating gluten when he can).  I think he would have eaten the dairy free mozzarella cheese if I would have put it on his pizza, but I’m trying to be good about separation & allowing him to have his own food when I can.  With the four individual pizzas each can be completely customized and my husband can load up on real mozzarella cheese without it spilling onto mine.

image

You keep the crusts frozen & put them onto a cookie sheet.  I put two on my cookie sheet and two on his.  Then I added pizza sauce to all 4.

image

These pizza’s will be my first time trying Daiya mozzarella shreds.  I was a LITTLE nervous as I just wanted a normal freaking pizza and not some weird textured non cheese tasting pizza.

image

I loaded my husband’s up with regular mozzarella cheese, pepperoni, leeks, and black olives (ew).

image
image

I sprinkled on some dairy free mozzarella cheese, pepperoni, and leeks to mine.  I also added on some italian spices to each of the pizzas.

image

This. Pizza. Is. Amazing.

Seriously – I could eat it EVERY day!  The crust browned & got a little crispy.  It tasted like a real pizza though!  The crust & dairy free cheese did NOT make it odd tasting whatsoever.  My husband even liked the crust! 🙂 He wasn’t willing to try my dairy free cheese though.

How do you make your gluten free pizza?

Leave a Reply

