Ham & Hashbrown Casserole

image

Christmas is 3 days away!!!! 3!!!! I can’t even believe it.  I’m off the entire next week, but of course I’m cramming as many christmasy recipes as I can in to this week (while still trying to manage to work and clean and workout and spend time with my doggies)!

Do you have a traditional breakfast you make for Christmas every year?  This year I’m aiming for festive but easy!  After all, who wants to spend their Christmas eve & Christmas day in the kitchen? I don’t care how much you love cooking, sometimes its nice to just break away from that kitchen & spend time with your family & friends!

The other morning I whipped up some breakfast casserole that was prettttyyy delicious.  I’m thinking of making a candy cane danish for work on Friday morning (we’re having a breakfast pot luck) so maybe (if it turns out OK) I’ll make that for our Christmas morning too?! 😉

Anyway, if you don’t have anything planned – This breakfast casserole is a pretty tasty option!

image

I used about 3 ½ c frozen has browns

image

along with 1 can of cream of mushroom soup.  If you can, I’d look for a lower sodium option.  The one downfall of this casserole is that it was pretty salty.

image

I mixed together the has browns, cream of mushroom soup can, and 1 c shredded cheddar cheese.

image

Then I took two ham steaks and cut them into bite size pieces and added it to the bowl.

image

Mix it all together (it looks like alien food – I know)

image

and spread into a 9×11 casserole dish.  Top with parmesan cheese.

image

Bake at 375 for 1 hour or until brown & bubbly.

image

Ingredients

3 ½ c frozen hash browns

2 ham steaks

1 can cream of mushroom soup (low sodium preferred – you can sub out cream of potato here too)

1 c shredded cheddar cheese

1 c Parmesan cheese

Recipe

1. Preheat oven to 375. Spray Pam on a 9×11 baking dish.

2. Mix together frozen hash browns, mushroom soup, and cheddar cheese in a large bowl.

3. Cut your ham steaks into tiny chunks – Add to your bowl of ingredients & mix until well combined.

4. Spread ingredients from bowl into 9×11 baking dish evenly.  Top with parmesan cheese.

5. Bake 1 hour (or until brown/bubbly) at 375.

Leave a Reply

