Gluten & Dairy Free Fried Chicken

That’s right, ladies & gents.  Gluten AND dairy free FRIED chicken! Woooohooo!!!  I told my hubby I wanted comfort food and he recommended I give fried chicken a try!

I recently bought gluten free breadcrumbs and gluten free flour.  I hadn’t opened either of them to try yet so this was the perfect opportunity!

I poured flour in one bowl and the breadcrumbs in the other.  I figured I’d try the fried chicken both ways to know which way we prefer for next time!  Plus, variety is the spice of life!

I added in fresh ground pepper & salt, garlic powder, onion powder, turmeric, and paprika to spice up the breading.

We had thighs and drumsticks to use up in the fridge.  I had bought two huge packs of chicken and we BBQ’ed half of them over the weekend.

I dipped the chicken in egg & then in the breadcrumbs or the flour.  I breaded all of them and set them on a cookie sheet.  Then I heated up my oil for a pan fry.  Once my oil was heated, I placed my chicken in.

I fried them 5 minutes on one side.

5 minutes on the other.

After 10 minutes in the fryer they were a golden crispy brown.

We baked them in the oven for 40 minutes and served them with a side salad and broccoli.  My choice here honestly wouldn’t have been a side salad and broccoli but maybe mac & cheese, baked beans, coleslaw…. you know, the stuff you eat with fried chicken!! 🙂 However, we went for the healthier route. Maybe next time I’ll prepare in advance & whip up some yummy sides.

Ingredients:

Gluten free breadcrumbs

Gluten free flour

Oil to fry in (I filled my pan up to the buttons on the side of the pan)

Chicken thighs

Chicken legs

Egg

Seasonings to add to your flours: Garlic powder, onion powder, turmeric, salt, pepper, and paprika.

Fried Chicken

1. Using two bowls (or pie pans) pour gluten free flour and gluten free breadcrumbs in each bowl.

2. Sprinkle in your seasonings to spice up your breading – I used garlic powder, onion powder, turmeric, salt, pepper, and paprika.  I didn’t measure any of them – I just sprinkled it in.

3. Dip your chicken in the egg & then coat with flour or breadcrumbs.  I use tongs to do this – I used to always use a fork or my hands to bread things and after a lot of trial & error, tongs work best.

4. After all of your chicken is coated, heat your oil.

5. Pan fry your chicken in the oil 5 minutes on each side.

6. Once your chicken has been fried on both sides (10 minutes for each piece of chicken), place them on a cookie sheet.  I was only able to fry 3 pieces at a time.

7. Preheat your oven to 350

8. Bake your chicken for 40 minutes on a 350 degree oven.

Leave a Reply

