Funfetti Birthday Cake

image

My husband’s birthday was just a few days ago and I have to tell you a secret.  He ONLY wants funfetti cakes for his birthday.  Ok, I don’t think he would even care if he had a cake but if he WANTED a cake it would be funfetti.  Normally I buy the box BUT I feel like I’m getting to the age where hey, I should be able to make a mean cake.  So, now is my chance.

Except, I’ve never made a cake from scratch before.  Ever.  Yikes.

I googled funfetti cakes & found a few recipes.  I decided to go with this one: here.

Recipe from Sally’s Baking Addiction:

  • 1 and 2/3 cup (210g) all-purpose flour, careful not to overmeasure
  • ½ teaspoon baking powder
  • ¼ teaspoon baking soda
  • ½ teaspoon salt
  • ½ cup (1 stick or 115 g) unsalted butter, melted
  • ¾ cup (150g) granulated sugar
  • ¼ cup (50g) packed light brown sugar
  • 1 large egg
  • ¼ cup (60g) yogurt  (plain or vanilla; or greek yogurt; or sour cream)
  • ¾ cup (180ml) milk (cow’s milk; or soy milk; or almond milk)
  • 1 Tablespoon (15ml) vanilla extract
  • 2/3 cup (90g) sprinkles (not nonpareils)

VANILLA BUTTERCREAM

  • 1 cup (2 sticks or 230g) unsalted butter, softened to room temperature
  • 3-4 cups (360-480g) powdered (confectioners’) sugar
  • ¼ cup (60ml) heavy cream (see note above about substituting milk or half-and-half)
  • 2 and ½ teaspoons vanilla extract
  • salt, as needed
  • Order Ingredients

Directions:

Preheat oven to 350F degrees. Spray a 9-inch springform or baking pan (round or square) generously with nonstick spray. Set aside.

In a medium bowl, mix together flour, baking powder, baking soda, and salt. Set aside. In a large microwave-safe bowl, melt butter in the microwave. Whisk in the sugars vigorously getting out any brown sugar lumps – mixture will be gritty. Whisk in egg, yogurt, milk, and vanilla extract until combined. Slowly mix in dry ingredients until no lumps remain. Batter will be thick. Slowly stir in sprinkles, but do not overmix because the sprinkles will bleed their color.

Pour/spoon batter into prepared cake pan. This cake takes around 33-37 minutes to bake. What I suggest is to bake it for 20 minutes, then cover loosely with aluminum foil (loosely to avoid the top from sticking to the foil) and continue baking for 13-17 more minutes or until a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean. Allow to cool.

To make the frosting, beat softened butter on medium speed with an electric or stand mixer. Beat for 3 minutes until smooth and creamy. Add powdered sugar, cream, and vanilla extract with the mixer running. Increase to high speed and beat for 3 minutes. Add more powdered sugar if frosting is too thin or more cream if mixture is too thick. Add ¼ teaspoon (or more) if frosting is too sweet. Frost cooled cake as desired and top with sprinkles. There may be leftover frosting depending how much you wish to use.

Cake stays fresh covered at room temperature or in the refrigerator for 5 days.

Ok, so there you have it.  That’s the recipe I followed.

image

EXCEPT my cake took way longer to bake than what the recipe called for.  Hm, that’s weird.  My center was wobbly so I had to put it back in for about 15 minutes.  (You can see my toothpick holes from checking).  Also, I was SUPER careful not to stir too many times when I put the sprinkles in to avoid bleeding but I think they still did more than they were supposed to.

image

Ok, so now let’s talk about the icing.  You want my honest opinion?  I didn’t like it.  First of all, that recipe makes a TON of icing.  I put it on thick here and still had almost a whole cup left over.  But, I just didn’t like the taste.  I think next time I would do a cream cheese icing.  Maybe it was the brand of powdered sugar I bought?  It tasted stale almost!

Okay but here’s the best part.  Here’s the behind the scenes/what really happened/leighs real life baking stories.  I woke up the next morning after baking this cake (and guys… this took TIME.  I was super precise & super worried I was going to mess something up).  So, I woke up and my FIRST thought was – OMG I FORGOT THE BAKING POWDER.  Yup.  That happened.

I’m pretty sure I talked to my husband for a few hours about it.  I was so upset.  How did it turn out?  Well, the cake itself was good but it just had the texture more like a pound cake than a funfetti cake 😀

There you have it folks.  There’s the real story behind the pretty picture 😀

What’s your favorite cake recipe?? Have you ever made a funfetti cake? Have you ever forgotten an ingredient when baking?? (If you haven’t we can’t be friends)

Leave a Reply

