Crockpot Pumpkin Granola Stuffed Apples

What food reminds you of fall?  Pumpkin & Crisp Apples?  YES!  This Crock Pot Stuffed Apple recipe is both of those things in such a yummy and semi healthy way!  I picked two recipes and combined them for this delicious breakfast or dessert idea!

The granola I made here is a delicious pumpkin granola!  The recipe was from the Minimalist Baker and can be found by clicking here.

It’s a crunchy sweet & savory combination of pumpkin, pecans, oats, and all of the fall spices we all love.

I made my batch of granola up first & let it cool while I was making my apple cups.

I picked my apples out & placed them in the crock pot first to see how many I could fit.  The apples are from my mother in law’s tree and they’re sour & crisp and my absolute favorite apples on this Earth!!  Plus, they just smell of fall.

Slice the top of your apple off to have a flat surface.

Don’t waste any apple – Slice that top up & place it in a bowl for later use.

Use a mellon baller to scoop the inside of your apple out to make an apple cup.  Remember to not waste any apple here – Place it aside in a bowl.  When you get to the seeds I used 1 scoop of the mellon baller & tossed that ball in the trash.

Make sure to leave a little apple left in your cup to enjoy.

Once you’ve made your apple cups add them back into your crock pot.

Place a small amount of granola in the bottom of your cup.  Now you can dice up a little of the apple you had left over & add that in on top of your granola layer.

Then top with granola – I loaded my granola right up.

Set your crock pot on high & cook for 1 ½ hours.  The apple will be soft but shouldn’t be completely falling apart.

Pumpkin Granola:

I’ve been making this Crockpot Pumpkin Granola recipe for years.  My favorite granola for it is from Minimalist Baker.  Click here for her recipe.  My modified version is here:

Ingredients:

2 c oats

1 ½ c pecans

½ tsp pumpkin pie spice

½ tsp nutmeg

sprinkle of salt

1 tablespoon brown sugar

½ 15 oz can pumpkin

Directions:

1. Combine your oats, pecans, pumpkin pie spice, nutmeg, salt, pumpkin, and brown sugar in a bowl.  Mix well.

2. Bake at 350 for 25 minutes.

Crockpot Apples:

My idea for the crockpot apples came from The Magical Slow Cooker.  You can find the recipe here.

Ingredients:

6 Apples

1 tablespoon maple syrup

1 tablespoon butter

Recipe:

1. Pick out your apples & place them in the crock pot to make sure they’ll all fit.

2. Slice the top off your apple

3. Use a mellon baller to scoop out the stem & toss it.  Continue to use the mellon baller to scoop out the insides of the apple.  (I sliced my inside pieces up small & kept them in a bowl for my use of a mini apple pie – Recipe coming soon).

4. Once you have scooped out all of your apple insides, place your apple in the crock pot & move on to the next apple.

5. Once all of your apples are scooped out and your granola has been cooked, scoop some granola into the bottom of your apples & then add in some of your sliced apples that you placed aside.  Top with more granola.

6. Drizzle 1 tablespoon butter over all of your apples as well as 1 tablespoon maple syrup.

7. Cook on high 2 hours.

Serve in the AM for breakfast or eat them with ice cream for dessert. Sooo good either way. I promise – You won’t be disappointed.

Leave a Reply

