Copycat Italian Oven Fried Zucchini

image

I grew up in a really little town in north western PA.  We had a restaurant called the Italian Oven about an hour from my town and it was my favorite place when I was a kid.  I remember getting a soda with a noodle straw as a kid (funny the stuff you remember, isn’t it?).

The Italian Oven had THEE BEST fried zucchini.  It was long thin ribbons of zucchini lightly fried with a salty garlicky crunch.  I’ve never had fried zucchini that was even close to as good as it….except until now.

image

I took a few eggs & beat them & added to a shallow pan.  Then I added flour mixed in with garlic salt and a wee bit of pepper.

I used a vegetable peeler & slid it long ways down my zucchini to make thin ribbons.  Be patient – This is not as easy as you’d think 😉 (It will be worth it though, I promise).  Then I dipped the zucchini in the egg & then the flour & into the fryer oil.

image

I pan fried them until just lightly golden brown.  Then I sprinkled lightly with garlic salt.

These thin ribbons of golden, crunchy, garlicky heaven?  Yep…. bring back wonderful childhood memories.  Man I’m good. 😉

image

Ingredients

2 Zucchinis

1 ½ c flour

1 tablespoon garlic salt (more for sprinkling on after fried)

Dash black pepper

3 eggs

Oil for frying

Directions

1. Slice your zucchini into long thin strips using a vegetable peeler

2. Whisk three eggs together & add to shallow pan.  Set aside.

3. Mix flour & 1 tablespoon garlic salt together in shallow pan. Set aside.

4. Add oil to frying pan & heat.

5. Dip strip of zucchini into egg & then into flour mixture.   Add to hot oil & cook until lightly brown.

6. Remove from oil & put zucchini strip on plate lined with paper towel.  Sprinkle lightly with garlic salt.

7. Enjoy!

**(You could serve these with a horseradish sour cream dipping sauce – Use ¾ c sour cream, ¼ c mayo, 2 heaping tsp horseradish).

Leave a Reply

