Chicken & Waffles

My husband requested chicken and waffles this morning.  We both tried this for the first time about a year and a half ago after watching Bobby Flay make it on TV.  Thank you, Bobby Flay, for changing my life.

I do not use Bobby Flay’s recipe, but I’m sure his is delicious as well.  It’s now probably my favorite breakfast of all time & I think it’s up on the favorites for my husband too.  It is a little time consuming (not as bad as you’d think) but it’s SO SO worth it.

First, I make sure I’m EXTREMELY organized here.  I get my pan ready to fry my chicken, my tongs out that I’m going to use to dip my chicken in egg & flour & oil.  Then I put a drying rack on a cookie sheet so the oily chicken can let any excess oil drip off after they’re pan fried.

I took our my waffle maker & got that set up 🙂

Now, it’s time to make the waffle batter.  This recipe is super easy and you’ll have all of the ingredients on hand (most likely).  I started by mixing all of my dry ingredients together and then working on the wet.

I put my husband to work by making him whisk my egg whites.  I told him once his hand starts to feel like it’s going to fall off to keep on whisking because he’s ALMOST there.  He didn’t even complain other than saying it was hard work!

I put frying oil in my pan & got my two boneless skinless chicken breasts out of the fridge.  I cut off all of the extra fat on them and then I used a filet knife to make them thin.

I dipped in egg, flour, and then egg and flour again.  Then straight into the frying oil (of course after it’s heated) for 2 minutes on each side or until golden brown.

Then put them on your cookie sheet for a few minutes.  I heated my oven up while doing this to finish cooking them in the oven. 400 degrees for about 15-20 minutes.

I mixed my wet ingredients into my dry & then folded in the beautiful egg whites my husband so graciously beat for me.  I didn’t tell him there was an easier way to beat egg whites…. let’s keep that a secret 😉

In the waffle maker for about 3 minutes for each waffle (turning halfway through).  Beautiful!

The chicken turned out crispy & delicious as well.

and of course you can’t have chicken and waffles without some spicy bloody marys!

If you haven’t ever had this, don’t knock it until you try it.

I used to be one of those people that “knocked” it but man oh man, once I tried it?!?! I’ll be making this year after year after year…..

We add maple syrup & franks red hot to ours & then eat it with a knife and fork.  Enjoy!

Chicken Recipe (Makes 4 chicken slices for on top of waffles)

Ingredients:

2 boneless skinless chicken breasts

1 ½ c flour

1 tablespoon garlic powder

1 teaspoon black pepper

1 pinch cayenne pepper

1 teaspoon salt

Fryer oil

Directions:

1. Cut any excess fat off of your boneless skinless chicken.  Using a filet knife, slice chicken down the middle so you have four thin slices.

2. Heat your oil in a fryer pan.

3. Mix your flour, garlic powder, black pepper, cayenne, and salt together.

4. Using tongs dip your chicken in the egg & then in your flour mixture.  Then dip back in the egg & in the flour once more

5. Start frying in the oil.  2 slices at a time.  Let chicken turn golden brown – about 2 minutes on each side.

6. Remove from fryer oil & let excess oil drip off by using a cooling rack on a cookie sheet.

7. Repeat until all chicken is fried & on cooling rack

8. Preheat oven to 400 and finish cooking chicken approximately 15-20 minutes.

Waffles (Makes 4 large waffles)

Ingredients:

2 c flour

4 tsp baking powder

¼ c sugar

2 eggs (separated)

½ c oil

1 ½ c evaporated milk

Directions:

1. Mis together flour, baking powder, and sugar. Set aside

2. Separate your eggs.  Beat egg whites until soft peaks.

3. Combine egg yolk, oil, and evaporated milk.

4. Mix wet ingredients with dry ingredients.  Leave batter a little lumpy (do not over mix).

5. Fold in egg whites.

6. Add batter to waffle maker & cook 1 ½ minutes on each side.

*Waffle recipe adapted from Food.com

Top each waffle with fried chicken & drizzle on red hot & maple syrup.  Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

