Carrot Soup

image

I had a TON of leftover carrots to use up.  Some were still from my garden and some were leftover from the grocery store.  I decided to try to whip up a carrot soup.  Carrot soup? I know, I was skeptical too.  But, I promise this is delicious.  and I would make it again….and again….and again 🙂

image

I drizzled 2 tablespoons olive oil into a pan & added 1 tablespoon butter.

image

I diced up a sweet onion & threw that in once my oil was hot.  I added my minced garlic in here too.

image

Then I sliced up my carrots & added them in.  I used about three large carrots.

I also added in about 1 c vegetable broth.  I let my carrots cook & then I used my blender to get them to a perfect creamy consistency.

image

I wish you could share smells on the internet… I really do.  This smelled INCREDIBLE.  Look at the gorgeous colors of those carrots!  Golden and delicious and perfectly soft.

image

Once it was a nice creamy consistency (I did add a little water while blending to allow it to blend better) I added it back to my pot.

image

I added ¼ c milk and ½ c vegetable broth.  Mix well.  I then added it to my soup cups & topped with croutons & goat cheese.

Carrot Soup (Serves 2)

Ingredients

3 large carrots

½ large sweet onion

2 tablespoons olive oil

1 tablespoon butter

¼ c milk (you can use anything here – I used skim milk to keep my soup light but 2%, whole, or heavy cream would all be delicious).

1 ½ c vegetable broth

¼ c water

2 cloves garlic

Directions

1. Add your butter & olive oil to a large bowl on medium heat.

2. Dice your sweet onion & add to your pan once your oil is hot.  Mince your garlic & add that in your pan as well.

3. Slice your carrots into circles/rounds & add to pan after onion has cooked for approximately five minutes.

4. Add 1 c vegetable broth to your carrot/onion mixture, reduce heat, and let cook for 25 minutes.

5. Add your mixture to blender & blend until creamy consistency.  If not enough liquid to successfully blend, add water (I used about ¼ c water as listed above in my ingredients)

6. Add your blended carrot/onion/water mixture back to your pan & add in ½ c vegetable broth & ¼ c milk/heavy cream.

7. Serve with croutons & dollops of goat cheese!

Leave a Reply

