Breakfast Sausage Corn Dogs

image

Who would have thought to make a breakfast sausage corn dog?  I’m not going to lie, I saw a video of Ree Drummond making these and I had to have them immediately.

image

I didn’t use Ree’s recipe – I made my own pancake batter with cornmeal added in.

image

I bought two packages of breakfast sausage.

image

and cooked them completely.

image

Then I cut my kabob sticks in ½ and stuck them almost half way through the sausage.

image

I dipped in the pancake batter & then fried.

image

It took me a few times to get them looking like a real corndog.  The first one the batter came completely off.  The trick here is to spin them around as soon as you put them in to the oil.  Then, if the batter starts to slide off (as you can see in the photo above) gently push them into the side of your pan & the batter will stick right on.

image

They turned out perfect!

image

I made these the morning of Thanksgiving & took them over to my neighbors house as they had a LOT of company.

image

I couldn’t believe how big of a hit they are!  AND, I couldn’t believe how delicious they were!!  I was a little skeptical – I’m not a big fan of corn dogs, but these things are the bomb diggity!

image

I had intentions of eating mine with maple syrup but as soon as I bit into it I wanted ketchup.  I’m a ketchup & sausage kind of person, anyway.  My husband ate his with mustard (hey, whatever works, right?)

image

Ingredients

2 packs breakfast sausages (12 oz packs)

1 ½ c flour

2 tablespoons sugar

2 tsp baking powder

½ tsp salt

1 ½ c milk

2 eggs

1 tsp vanilla

2 tablespoons vegetable oil

Kabob skewers (cut in half)

Vegetable or olive oil for frying

Directions

1. In a large bowl, combine your flour, cornmeal, baking powder, and salt.  Add in the eggs, vanilla, milk, and vegetable oil.

**Depending on how thick or thin your batter is, you can adjust by adding more cornmeal or water.  Add a little at a time.

2. Cook your sausage & let it cool.

3. Cut your kabob skewers in half & poke the sausage ½ way up the stick.

4. Dip your sausage into the batter.

5. Place into the hot oil.  Spin your stick slowly while doing this to get the round, pretty corn dog appearance. (Don’t get discouraged here – my first five were NOT pretty).  **If your dough starts to slip off of the sausage, push the top of your corn dog into the bottom or side of the pan for a second and it will stick back on to the sausage.

6. Place on paper towel

7. Serve with ketchup, mustard, and/or maple syrup.

Leave a Reply

