Bourbon Salmon & Chinese Green Beans

My brother in law lives in Alaska.  When he came to visit, he brought us a TON of wild caught Alaskan salmon!

I only like salmon two ways – Raw/sushi grade or glazed with bourbon.  My husband and I have been making a bourbon glaze for the past few years and the best part is that we BOTH love it!  My husband’s not much of a fan of salmon but cooked like this he likes it!

We sliced the salmon into filets and set it in the marinate (flipping once) for about 30 minutes.  The recipe we follow says to marinate it in a bag in the fridge for an hour – an hour and a half but we haven’t ever done that.  I never seem to plan this in advance!

Heat your pan & add your salmon in.

Cook on medium for four minutes on each side.

Then I dump my bourbon glaze in the pan to let it caramelize on the salmon.

Seriously, how delicious does that look??  Then I take a spoon & drizzle the extra sauce on top of the salmon once it’s plated.

The link for the recipe we use is here.

Recipe modified from: Cooking Light found on myrecipes.com

Recipe:

3 tablespoons brown sugar

3 tablespoons bourbon

2 tablespoons low-sodium soy sauce

3 garlic cloves, minced

¼ teaspoon freshly ground black pepper

4 (6-ounce) skinless salmon fillets

1 tablespoon sesame seeds, toasted

Heat a large nonstick skillet over medium-high heat. Coat pan with cooking spray. Add fish and marinade to pan; cook fish 4 minutes on each side or until fish flakes easily when tested with a fork or until desired degree of doneness. Place 1 fillet on each of 4 plates; drizzle each serving with about 2 teaspoons sauce.  Sprinkle sesame seeds on top.

*We cut out the ginger, lime, and green onions from the original recipe.

For the chinese green beans I make them around about the same each time.  You can see my previous chinese green beans post here.  This time I didn’t use a garlic clove and I used garlic powder instead.

I used a bag of frozen green beans that we bought from Sams Club.  I LOVE Sams club’s frozen vegetables – They don’t get that freezer burnt taste and ice doesn’t form in the bags.

I used:

½ tablespoon garlic powder

1 tablespoon soy sauce

Sprinkling salt

Sprinkling sesame seeds

1 tablespoon olive oil

These green beans are my absolute favorite & they go so well with the bourbon salmon!!

Leave a Reply

