Biscuits & Gravy

image

Biscuits & gravy are one of my favorite breakfasts!  I didn’t grow up having them, but when I was finally introduced I knew it was meant to be 😉 Dave & I went on vacation one time to Dallas/Fort Worth and I literally ate biscuits & gravy EVERY SINGLE MORNING for the entire week. That’s how obsessed I was, k?  Now, unfortunately, I don’t eat them every single morning anymore, but I’m pretty sure I could.

image

You can cheat & buy Pillsbury biscuits here and I completely won’t judge.  However, I love a good homemade biscuit.  I made my dough & I use my hands to flatten it out (it’s more homemade that way).  Then I use a cup to cut the circles for my biscuits.

image

Place your biscuit rounds on an ungreased cookie sheet.

image

and you’ll open your oven to discover fluffy yummy smelling and tasting biscuits!

image

I promise, you won’t be disappointed.

image

Now there’s a LOT of ways to make gravy.  Three things you definitely need: fat, milk, flour. The rest is completely up to you.  Sometimes I make pepper gravy with just butter, milk, and flour.  Other times I make duck bacon with duck fat I saved.  Most of the time I use bacon grease or, if you really love sausage, you can make a sausage gravy!

Recipe:

Ingredients:

2 cups all-purpose flour

1 tablespoon baking powder

½ teaspoon salt

½ cup shortening

¾ cup milk

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 450
  2. In a large mixing bowl sift together flour, baking powder and salt. Cut in shortening with fork or pastry blender until mixture resembles coarse crumbs.
  3. Pour milk into flour mixture while stirring with a fork. Mix in milk until dough is soft, moist and pulls away from the side of the bowl.
  4. Turn dough out onto a lightly floured surface and toss with flour until no longer sticky. Roll dough out into a ½ inch thick sheet and cut with a floured biscuit or cookie cutter. Press together unused dough and repeat rolling and cutting procedure.
  5. Place biscuits on ungreased baking sheets and bake in preheated oven until golden brown, about 10 minutes.

*Recipe from All Recipes

image

I save my leftover grease when I make bacon.  This leftover fat is actually from duck bacon!  (Side note – If you’ve never had duck bacon…. you’re SERIOUSLY missing out).

image

Add 1 heaping spoonful of fat, milk, pepper, green onion, and a sprinkle of some seasonings (if you so choose) to a saucepan.

image

On low/med heat, whisk together the ingredients.  Whisk in your flour.

image

Keeping your saucepan on low/medium  heat, your gravy will begin to try to boil & thicken.  That’s it! You’re done!  You can keep your gravy on low heat until your biscuits are ready.

image
image

Recipe:

1 ½ c milk

1 green onion

Sprinkle garlic powder

½ tsp black pepper

Sprinkle salt

2 heaping tbsp flour

Directions:

Add all of ingredients to medium sauce pan.  Whisk until combined.  On low/med heat allow gravy to thicken.  If too thick, add more milk.  If not thick enough, add more flour (½ tablespoon at a time).

Leave a Reply

