At Home Salad Bar

I was craving a salad for approximately four days – not even kidding.  I had a house salad before dinner the other night but my body just needed vegetables.

I have found that if I drink a Redbull, my body desperately needs salad that night.  I think it’s my body’s way of telling me that I shouldn’t drink Redbull & I should be giving it more nutritional food…. not that I don’t already know that.

I love salad bars.  Okay, I love them in a way & don’t in another.  The thing I love is the variety & being able to make my salad exactly how I want it.  The thing I don’t like is that sometimes they’re picked over or food gets mixed because people used the wrong utensil or… it looks old.  Do you know what I mean?

I decided to go to the store & buy all of the ingredients that I would put in my salad anyway because 1. It’s cheaper 2. It’s fresh 3. It’ll last more than 1 meal.

I bought mushrooms, red onions, cauliflower, sunflower seeds, carrots, ham, spring mix, and cottage cheese.

I sliced the bottom of the cauliflower off & used my hands to break the pieces apart into bite size pieces.  I sliced my red onion thin & shredded my carrots.  I shredded ½ of the block of cheddar cheese & then per my husbands request, cubed the other half.

The ham that I bought was presliced so I took some of it and put it aside for sandwiches later in the week & then I sliced the rest into strips for the salad.

The mushrooms were already sliced.

This is my absolute favorite salad!  I’m pretty sure I could eat this every day & not get sick of it.  Growing up I ate ham & cheese for lunch EVERY. SINGLE. DAY throughout elementary & some of high school.  No, I’m not kidding.  I apparently love ham more than I will admit to.

I’m weird with chicken on salads – I don’t like cold chicken & I think it gets a gross flavor when it’s cold or reheated.  If it’s REALLY seasoned then I can handle it – otherwise, forget it.  Ham just isn’t like that!  Ham is good all of the time hot or cold without seasoning.

I sometimes buy the preshredded carrots but honestly you save so much money in the long run by buying the full veggie & shredding it yourself.  Same with cheese – buy the block & shred it yourself.  Plus, you’re not getting the extra waxy coating they add to the pre-shredded cheese when you shred it yourself! Bonus!

Most of the ingredients I bought were on sale (woohooo) but it was around $30.00 for all of the ingredients.  The best part?  I know I’ll get at least 10 salads out of this which means $3.00 per salad! Beat that!

I had croutons at home already & I always use ranch dressing (it’s my absolute favorite).  For whatever reason, this salad just isn’t as good without some cottage cheese on the side.

What’s your favorite salad?

Leave a Reply

